top of page

Pixels Movie: Some Thoughts

Alright so here it is, the first real trailer for Pixels, a movie I have been somewhat dreading. Why? Well it’s not because i’m a person who’s afraid of people using nostalgic properties. I’m not the kind of person who’s likely to say something should be left alone how it was, I’m all about reinvigorating ideas from the past. My real concern is that of how the movie will handle “game enthusiasts”( that’s a term which I’ll let you define but I think it’s exclusive enough to not include my grandma who plays solitaire for example). Though this trailer actually did assuage my fears a tiny bit, I still can’t help but feel that this movie might attempt to pander to the idiot crowd and make cheap over done gamer jokes. You know you’ve heard them: “they live in their parents basement”, “they can’t get dates or understand social settings” or of course “they don’t exist in reality”. I have heard this kind of thing my entire life through TV, Movies and my peers. Of course some of this stuff will be true of some people in gamer culture and in many cases there’s nothing wrong with that but hearing the same old stereotypes is frustrating and something I deeply hope this movie will not indulge. The other way this film could go is far less offensive but would still probably fall flat for me and that’s if they try and cash in on the retro gaming scene. Obviously the movie is inspired by retro gaming and there is nothing wrong with that but if it ends up being 2 hours of “look guys galaga, remember that game? GALAGAAAAA REMEMBER!?” I probably won’t be impressed. References and homages are great as long as they have something else to stand on. At this point only time will tell if Pixels has anything else. For now I will say one thing that i’m pretty positive on and that’s how the game characters are portrayed. I think they all look very appealing in 3D and mostly rather colorful which is essential to recreating the arcade games style, what I mean is at least it doesn’t look like it was directed by Michael Bay.


bottom of page